July 2024

Gabon forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang won the CAF Player of the Year award, narrowly beating Yaya Toure and preventing him from winning the trophy for a record fifth time.

No surprise

The coaches and technical directors of CAF member nations awarded 143 points to Aubameyang, 136 points to Manchester City midfielder Toure, and 112 points to Swansea midfielder Andre Ayew. This is the first time that a Gabonese player wins this title. Aubameyang, 26, is the first player from Gabon to win the award. This victory comes with no surprise for Aubameyang, who has started to establish himself as one of Europe’s best strikers. So far, he’s scored 17 goals in 18 appearances this season for his club.

“I thank the people of Gabon, this award is for them,” the 26-year-old said in his acceptance speech. “I want to thank my teammates in the national team and also at Dortmund. It is their work that helps me to score goals. For the parents of the youth of Africa, please give your kids a chance to realize their dreams,” he added.


{adinserter CNP5}

The center of attention

Aubameyang has been the target of several big European clubs. The Arsenal Gunners reportedly offered 65.1 million dollars to Borussia Dortmund for their star striker but the German club declined the bid. For the first time in a decade, the London club could be in a good position to win the Premier League this year and the Gabonese striker might be the solution to their problem.


Here is the full list of winners:

African Player of the Year Based in Africa: Mbwana Aly Samatta, Tanzania

Women Player of the Year: Gaelle Enganamouit, Cameroon

Youth Player of the Year: Victor Osimhen, Nigeria

Most Promising Talent: Etebo Oghenekaro, Nigeria

Coach of the Year: Hervé Renard, Côte d’Ivoire

Referee of the Year: Bakary Papa Gassama, The Gambia

African Legend: Charles Kumi Gyamfi, Ghana & Samuel Mbappe Leppe, Cameroon

Men’s National Team of the Year: Côte d’Ivoire

Women’s National Team of the Year: Cameroon

Club of the Year: TP Mazembe, DR Congo

Fair Play Award: Allez Casa, Senegal

Platinum Award: President Buhari

SEE ALSO: Yaya Toure Is On Pace To Break Samuel Eto’o’s Record.